Strengthening Families Act Committee Meeting

August 6, 2021 1:00 pm to 2:00 pm Zoom and Lower Level Conference Room C Nebraska State Office Building 301 Centennial Mall South

1. Call to Order

Co-Chair of the Strengthening Families Act (SFA) Committee of the Nebraska Children's Commission (Commission), Jessica Hilderbrand, called the meeting to order at 1:10 pm and asked attendees to introduce themselves. Roll call was taken through introductions.

Lincoln, NE 68508

2. Roll Call and Introductions

Committee Members present (9):

Misty Frazier Deanna Brakhage Rhia Connley Ron Giesselmann Vernon Davis Brandy Gustoff

Sara Riffel

Jessica Rockemann

Terri Knutson

Committee Members absent (8):

Deb Shuck Payne Ackerman Rebecca Daugherty Ashley Brown Pat Frost Tiffany Uher

Heather Colton Stephanie Gardella

Non-Voting Members present (2)

Bailey Perry Jeremy Behrends

Non-Voting Members absent (2):

Monika Gross Deb VanDyke-Ries

A quorum was not established.

Guests in Attendance (7):

Adam Anderson	 Nebraska Children's Commission
Laura Opfer	 Nebraska Children's Commission

- Notice of Publication
 - Recorder, Adam Anderson, indicated that the notice of publication for this meeting was posted on the Nebraska Public Meetings and Nebraska Children's Commission websites in accordance with the Nebraska Open Meetings Act.
- b. Announcement of the placement of Open Meetings Act information A copy of the Open Meetings Act was available for public inspection and was located on the Nebraska Children's Commission Website and at the sign-in table.

3. Approval of Agenda

It was moved by Deanna Brakhage to approve the agenda as presented. Sara Riffel seconded the motion. There was no further discussion. Roll Call vote as follows:

FOR (9):

Deanna Brakhage Misty Frazier Terri Knutson Rhia Connley Ron Giesselmann Sara Riffel

Vernon Davis Brandy Gustoff Jessica Rockemann

AGAINST (0):

ABSENT (8):

Payne AckermanRebecca DaughertyDeb ShuckAshley BrownPat FrostTiffany Uher

Heather Colton Stephanie Gardella

ABSTAINED (0)

MOTION CARRIED

Discussion followed the agenda.

4. Approval of Meeting Minutes

It was moved by Brandy Gustoff to approve the April 15, 2021 Meeting Minutes with edits as discussed. Deanna Brakhage seconded the motion. There was no further discussion. Roll Call vote as follows:

FOR (9):

Deanna Brakhage Misty Frazier Terri Knutson Rhia Connley Ron Giesselmann Sara Riffel

Vernon Davis Brandy Gustoff Jessica Rockemann

AGAINST (0):

ABSENT (8):

Payne Ackerman Rebecca Daugherty Deb Shuck Ashley Brown Pat Frost Tiffany Uher

Heather Colton Stephanie Gardella

ABSTAINED (0)

MOTION CARRIED

5. Co-Chair Report

Co-Chair Rockemann reminded the Committee that due to the nature of this meeting being an extra meeting to help move business forward she had nothing additional to report.

6. Annual Report

Laura Opfer gave a summary of the recommendations contained in the SFA Annual Report. She reminded the Committee of the discussion at the previous meeting. She addressed a question from the previous meeting regarding Chafee funding, noting that the Committee will be taking time to look into the funding sources available for transition aged youth, as to better understand all funding streams. Opfer highlighted the changes made in the annual report from feedback received at the previous meeting and discussions.

It was moved by Ron Giesselmann to approve the SFA Annual Report with edits as discussed. Jessica Rockemann seconded the motion. There was no further discussion. Roll Call vote as follows:

FOR (9):

Deanna Brakhage Misty Frazier Terri Knutson Rhia Connley Ron Giesselmann Sara Riffel

Vernon Davis Brandy Gustoff Jessica Rockemann

AGAINST (0):

ABSENT (8):

Payne AckermanRebecca DaughertyDeb ShuckAshley BrownPat FrostTiffany Uher

Heather Colton Stephanie Gardella

ABSTAINED (0)

MOTION CARRIED

7. APPLA Subcommittee

Laura Opfer discussed the plan for the APPLA Subcommittee to move forward with having discussion with DHHS regarding the recommendation of the Committee to pursue Transition Aged Youth Advocate Specialist positions within Children and Family Services. Deanna Brakhage noted that Alger Studstill and Roger Robinson would be people to begin the conversation with. Sara Riffel will present information at the next meeting about how funding is broken down.

It was moved by Jessica Rockemann to approve the APPLA Subcommittee action item to move forward with discussion regarding Transition Aged Youth Advocates. Ron Giesselmann seconded the motion. There was no further discussion. Roll Call vote as follows:

FOR (9):

Deanna Brakhage Misty Frazier Terri Knutson Rhia Connley Ron Giesselmann Sara Riffel

Vernon Davis Brandy Gustoff Jessica Rockemann

AGAINST (0):

ABSENT (8):

Payne AckermanRebecca DaughertyDeb ShuckAshley BrownPat FrostTiffany Uher

Heather Colton Stephanie Gardella

ABSTAINED (0)

MOTION CARRIED

8. New Business

Laura Opfer took some time to discuss the updated Open Meetings Act requirements. She noted that if members have concerns meeting in person to reach out to her or Adam Anderson to express those concerns. She shared that the Committee can hold up to 50% of its meetings with a virtual option in a calendar year. Adam Anderson answered questions regarding virtual meetings.

9. Public Comment

Co-Chair Rockemann opened up the floor for public comment. There was no public comment.

10. Next Steps

Laura Opfer noted that a Doodle poll will be sent to schedule the next meeting.

11. Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 1:40 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted,
Adam Anderson